Reviews

F. Reed Brown

"One of those rare places that makes you think "this place shouldn't be here... but it is!" Kyle and Nancy make the experience completely memorable. Chic décor - Romantic atmosphere - Creative cuisine."


***** 5 Stars  |  August 2019

Patrice Monaghan Schneider 

"Absolutely amazing experience. Perfect wine pairings. Love the small plates and the theme of selecting different wine regions. Tonight we dined in Southern Italy, more specifically Sicily. Fantastic!

***** 5 Stars  |  October 2019

 

 

Peter Purdy

"Just a very special evening on all counts. We loved it! Again, a super evening. Great ambiance, delicious food, amazing wines and Kyle and Nancy's wonderful attention to Susie, Connie and the Purdy's."

 

***** 5 Stars  |  June 2019

~

William Seibert

"A typical night at Remedy. Everything was perfection. Nancy is the best!"

***** 5 Stars  |  June 2019

~

Linda Lutz

"Wow! Finally went by when the shop was open.... fabulous cheese... will be back."

***** 5 Stars  |  June 2019

~

Catherine & Steve Krane

"We want to thank you for such a memorable experience. Everything from the ambience to the wines to the exquisite food was a sensory delight! We will certainly return." 

***** 5 Stars  |  June 2019

~

William Seibert ~ Shelburne Falls, MA

"Wine and Cheese Heaven! Wonderful Wine & Cheese Boutique coupled with a great Wine Bar.
 

Cheesemaker Nancy Bergman and sommelier Kyle Frey never fail to impress with the quality of their products and hospitality. Ms. Bergman makes world class soft ripening cheese which she kindly permits me to sell in my store. They are all great but my favorite is the Grappino, the most full flavored of the bunch. The wine selection curated by Mr. Frey is thoughtful and holds many delicious surprises from all over the world.


They also have a wonderful wine bar named “Remedy.” The couple holds theme-based dinners based on the cuisine and wine from various viticultural regions. The last one was from the Savoie region of France and there was exquisitely melted Raclette Cheese everywhere. Needlessly to say the 6 or so wines were perfect and though I’ve been in the wine business for 30 years (7 of which were in France) I was surprised to try wines that I’d never heard of.


Jacksonville, Vermont is lucky to have them, I’m lucky to have them 20 minutes away. 
 

Reservations strongly recommended!"

 ***** 5 Stars  |  June 2019

~

James Burgermeister 

"Remedy is flat out amazing. The place looks great, the wines are world class, the Spoonwood Cabin cheeses are unparalleled, and it's run by two of the friendliest and most dedicated gourmets on the planet. Jacksonville is lucky to have such an amazing spot. Bon appetit!"

***** 5 Stars  |  May 2019

~

Butlerbrook


"Charming restaurant featuring a broad range of imported wines and small plates lovingly prepared by owner Kyle and Nancy.

The owners share their love of European wines and fresh food in a cozy, relaxed environment. Sit back and have fun while Kyle and Nancy work their magic - you won't be disappointed!"

 ***** 5 Stars  |  May 2019

~

Cindy S. ~ Manhattan, NY

"I really can't add much to what the reviewer Anon wrote - it was all spot on consistent with our experiences there. I use the plural because we've been back many times - brought friends and family from Manhattan and Connecticut - and they have always been impressed and delighted with the wine, the food, the ambiance, and the warmth and generosity of the hosts.


And speaking of warmth - pulling up to this cozy spot in the small town of Jacksonville is totally part of the charm, whether it's a snowy ski week-end or a summer day. Worth the trip from anywhere on the East Coast!"

***** 5 Stars  |  May 2019

~

Newton Brosius

"As always a wonderful, delicious, relaxing but exciting, educational night out!​"

 

***** 5 Stars  |  April 2019

~

Eric Kessler

"Been coming to Nancy and Kyle for close to 4 years now and to their World Class Wine and homecrafted Cheese shop. I am continually visiting the New Remedy Wine Bar since it's Grand Opening last year. Gastronomic culinary delights and renowned unique wines from around the world that tantalize and satiate the palette like no other this side of the Pond. Combine that with Nancy and Kyle's heartfelt hospitality and superbly orchestrated ambiance creates a bohemian atmosphere that you will cherish and remember fondly, at least that how it is/was for me."

***** 5 Stars  |  April 2019

~

William Seibert

"A jẹun bi ọba. Mo ṣeun pupọ pupọ!"

***** 5 Stars  |  April 2019

~

Greenfield, MA

"An Oasis in the middle of a Desert!

 

We were transported back to the best small bistro you could find in the Alps last Saturday night. The atmosphere is charming and cozy, the food and wine o​utstanding, and the proprietors (Nancy and Kyle) friendly and knowledgeable. March is raclette month at Remedy Wine Bar and it had been years (more like decades) since my last Swiss experience. We started our meal with a glass of bubbly, then a mushroom appetizer paired with a rare wine. I realize now that I should have taken notes, but suffice to say, that all the pairings were outstanding. Next was a traditional raclette served with potatoes, gherkins, onions and a small salad. We added a charcuterie platter with various dried meats and bread. My date drank red, I drank white. 


Dessert was a dense almost flour-less chocolate cake served with fresh whipped cream....simply heavenly. We finished with a moscato dessert wine. I haven't had this much fun dining in eons. 


The menu is small and changes regularly. I can't imagine anything not being worth the travel. (maybe 35 minutes from Brattleboro and the same from Greenfield). 


Make a reservation and have the best dining experience possible!"

***** 5 Stars  |  March 2019

~

Stratford, CT

"Yummy cheese and delicious wine!

This spot is a hidden gem. The cheese is always unique and delicious; the wine options are countless; and the menu offers yummy small plate treats. The ambiance is calming and romantic. The owners are warm and friendly and always direct you to the right choices given what you tell them you like. 


I highly recommend checking out Remedy!!!"

***** 5 Stars  |  March 2019

~

Andrew Greenfield

"Superb cuisine, ambiance, and service. Nancy and Kyle are incredibly warm and gracious hosts."

***** 5 Stars  |  February 2019

~

Anon Y M. ~ Guilford, VT

"Very very limited hours & space. Not exactly 'in town'. But they are worth seeking out. They are a destination. As good of a wine bar as any that I have been to in North America. These are two experts, doing what they love, and sharing it with you. There is no pretention, no discomfort - you are a treated as a cherised guest in their home and they will do anything to make you feel comfortable and taken care of. 

Kyle and Nancy cut their teeth in some of the best restaurants in the world. That is not hyperbole - I'm talking places like Eleven Madison Park and Blue Hill. What you get is a themed menu - which changes when they feel like (It seems like every couple months). It is refined, edited - basically all hits and no filler. They are pouring wines that you really don't see poured often - especially in VT - and making simple, enjoyable food to go along with it (don't go here expecting dinner). 

They easily have the best service we have found in all of VT - even better than places we have found other Union Square Hospitality alumni (there are a few scattered in VT.)  If they were in Brattleboro - we would be there *at least* once a week. 

To give you an idea - at our most recent visit - they were showcasing Raclette - grilled and shaved traditionally - while pouring wines from Savoie and Jura. 

You will not be disappointed. Go."

***** 5 Stars  |  February 2019

~

Yvonne Ruggles

"Truly unique experience."

***** 5 Stars  |  February 2019

~

West Halifax, VT

"Amazing experience in an unexpected location.

Recall the cliché cartoon of a person dressed in rags crawling along a desert with a humorous caption explaining their search. In Southern Vermont the caption would be about finding an elegant, sophisticated venue for a glass of well-selected wine and unique small plates of food to soothe the soul and brighten the spirit. 

If you come to Remedy Wine Bar in Jacksonville, Vermont your search will end. 

The proprietors, Nancy and Kyle, have a pedigree from some of the worlds finest restaurants and having escaped the urban pull have set up a wine shop, an artisanal cheesemaking facility and, most recently, a wine bar that would be welcome anywhere. 

Kyle is the Sommelier and will walk you through their amazing wine selection to find the perfect glass at your perfect price. He never tires of making a guest welcome. Nancy is the chef/cheesemaker and her creativity and unique dishes are a perfect compliment to whatever wine you have chosen. Or if you have chosen your food first Kyle will find the perfect accompanying wine.

This review comes after repeated visits to Remedy Wine Bar and I never fail to return home well feed, content, and planning my next visit."

***** 5 Stars  |  February 2019

 

~

Austin, TX

"Stellar Food and Wines in Little Jacksonville Vermont!

Nancy and Kyle are extraordinary hosts. Nancy’s amazing small dishes were delicious as always. Kyle worked to find a wine that each of us loved and that paired well with the food. We’ve been coming to Remedy since it opened, introducing it to our friends and family members. We will be back!"

***** 5 Stars  |  January 2019

 

~

Glenn Dulmage

"The ownership made this one of the best meals I have ever had in VT. (over 25 years ) Between the specialty small plates and Kyle's extensive wine knowledge our small group was blown away!"

***** 5 Stars  |  January 2019

~

"An excellent experience!

We had a delightful evening at the Remedy Wine Bar. The food and wine is outstanding and the atmosphere is warm and intimate. Nancy and Kyle are impeccable hosts. I highly recommend this gem in the middle of Jacksonville, Vermont."

***** 5 Stars  |  January 2019

~

Laurel Copeland

"Amazing food & wines! And Nancy & Kyle are the best hosts."

***** 5 Stars  |  January 2019